If It Were My Last Day

Posted: October 27, 2011 in Life
Tags: , , ,

If It Were My Last Day

I’ve never really been an Apple fan. I remember the first time I used a Mac; it was through grades 6-8 in Bloordale Middle School. I didn’t really understand why the computers were so different than what I was used to using, I just knew that they were. I suppose the fact that the monitors were shaped like an Apple should have been some clue but hey, I was young.

Even now, the only Apple product I own is an iPod and it’s a pain to use because I find iTunes to be extremely frusterating to work with. I keep my music in file folders on my computer that I’ve sync’d directly to my computer via CD’s. The easy way to play them is to drag and drop them into their relevant location on the MP3 player but iTunes just adds some extra unnessary steps.

Anyway, the point is I’ve never been an Apple guy and am still not. But when I heard Steve Jobs died it still got my attention just like everyone else. It just seemed odd that someone so well known and young was no longer around.

I found myself immediately doing some research, finding out a little bit more about Steve Jobs. One of the first things I came across was his Stanford address from 2005. I’m sure many people have either read it or watched it online, but if not you can do so here.

There was a lot of useful information contained within, however the one part that stuck out to me was this quote:

This is probably some of the most simple and relevant advice I have ever come across. It’s extremely easy to get stuck in a routine and just go with it because well, it’s easy. I’ve thought about this quote almost every day since I’ve come across it now and the answer for me has been “no”.

It’s simple and motivational. Advice to live by in order to get the most from your life and be happy. What will I do differently? I’m still working on it, but there will be something.

RIP Steve Jobs.

Comments
  1. I love your site, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a blog, and gives the topics. If you set up updates value.

  2. […] about a job before this. They made me feel welcome and valued – even as a candidate. In an earlier blog post about Steve Jobs I knew I had to change something and wrote “What will I do differently? […]

Leave a Reply

